Trekking in Merzouga


It’s a few days before Chrismas, I’m in the middle of nowhere and my transport for the next 24 hours has a top speed of about 20km/hour when in a hurry. The tag on his ear identifies him as No. 2588 and I’m grateful for the warmth his body emits after the initial shock of being catapulted back and forth when he gets up and down. Apart from that, the ride is pretty rhythmic and exciting.

sahara-camp-10-of-21-2

I’m camel trekking from Merzouga to a sea of wind-swept dunes call Erg Chebbi, undulating crests and valleys of orange sand, and a camp about 8km from the Algerian border where I will overnight in a simple tent with nothing but blankets to keep warm.

sahara-camp-4-of-21-2

sahara-camp-8-of-21-2

sahara-camp-21-of-21-2

Unbeknown to me, I’ve decided to visit Morocco during the coldest winter in a decade.  It is icy outside and the wind whips around the tent all night, flapping at the entrance and keeping me awake, but I have seen more stars in this remote part of Morocco than I have ever seen anywhere else at one time.  Think Sossusvlei in Namibia meets Sutherland in South Africa’s Northern Cape.  Outside the camels sleep on the open ground, their grunts drowned out by the whistling wind.

Before daybreak I force myself from the pile of blankets to watch the sun rise and am treated to small trains of camels on the dunes in front of me as the sun’s rays tickle the earth – the photographic highlight of my trip so far.

sahara-camp-18-of-21-2

The Sahara is cold but exhilarating and although I’d give anything for a bath right now, I am ever so grateful for this amazing experience which I won’t forget in a hurry.

10 thoughts on “Trekking in Merzouga

    • Thank you so much – it’s always wonderful to receive positive feedback about my posts.

      One of the many reasons I post details of my adventures is to share our big, beautiful, crazy world with others and to encourage people to visit the same places and experience them for themselves. You may, for example, enjoy Marrakech while it’s the one Moroccan city I loathed. You’ll only know if you go 🙂 If Morocco isn’t on your Bucket List already, put it on there 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hehe thanks very much for your kind comment also!
        I really appreciate people sharing their adventures on their blogs, specially by means of photographic reports 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, thanks Jude. Would you believe I took that with a point and shoot from the back of a camel and not a DSLR? Some scenes are just meant to be captured no matter what I think.

      None of my own photos are on my walls yet can you believe? Not a single one of my travels. But I am going today to see about making a photobook of my Moroccan travels. There are so many wonderful memories, I think a coffee table book is the best way of keeping them alive. As for the price, well sometimes you just have to swipe your credit card and gulp later 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I only have a few of my own photos on the wall. Some older ones that were photocopies have been chucked away as they were rather cringeworthy! I did do a book about our Canada travels and yes it was expensive, especially since I got a couple of copies as gifts for family. But I do enjoy looking through it at times, even though I now think some of the photos could have been improved.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I also had an amazing time in Merzouga, I stayed at Riad Aicha just behind the sand dunes in Hassi Labied. On my second night I stayed in the desert too, about an hour and a half away from the hotel. Looking at your images we might have stayed in the same camp site. I hope you also enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

