Sahara Sunrise


16266334_10154180653916512_6433146026316962105_n

I took over 1000 photos during a recent trip to Morocco, but if I had to chose only one favourite, it would be this shot taken at sunrise in the Sahara Desert.

For me photography isn’t only about skills and good cameras, but also about being in the right place at the right time.  This particular capture is the payoff for sleeping cold in a humble tent during the coldest Moroccan winter in a decade with the wind lashing the tent entrance throughout the night.  I had woken before most of the camp to photograph the sun coming up in the dunes when this small train of camels appeared out of nowhere and crossed my path.

This is what photography is all about 🙂

18 thoughts on “Sahara Sunrise

    • Actually this was an adventure tour rather than a photographic tour but I plan my holidays around photo ops. It’s impossible to hold a camera in your hand all the time in Morocco by the way – if you are not sharing narrow alleys in the Medinas with loaded donkeys coming the other way, you’re gasping for breath climbing the snow covered Atlas Mountains 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know. Its impossible to do so. I only spend a week in Morocco for that reason I need to go back.

        Like

  1. Now that’s dedication to the craft Karen and well done too. The scene has a timelessness about it, and guessing it will be an image etched into memory. Perfect composition; so captures the essence of a bigger picture, man and animal against a wide and daunting landscape.

    Like

    • So well summed up Liz. I won’t forget the pic or the adventure in a hurry. it was one of those moments where you can’t believe this is happening right in front of you. I was cold and tired and I had been in the same clothes for 24 hours. To make matters worse my plan had been to take advantage of the lack of light pollution and photograph the stars only at sunset I completely forgot the settings. There was no Internet connection for miles to Google it so I was really glum. This pic made up for that in so many ways.

      Like

Leave a Reply

