30 minutes to kill in Greenpoint


The weekday traffic out of Cape Town central can be manic at around 5pm, so rather than become a statistic in the stop-start madness that could eat up at least 30 minutes, I set off looking for a lighthouse to photograph.

1-IMG_1368

Greenpoint Lighthouse with the iconic Lion’s Head in the background.

Greenpoint is a cosmopolitan suburb with world class eateries, hugging the Atlantic Seaboard.   Despite the glut of concrete and glass high rise buildings, the ‘burb is full of surprises, like this colourful playpark.

1-IMG_1381

I’ll have to go back for an early morning walk along the Promenade towards Seapoint when I have more battery to take more photographs 🙂  Note to self:  Charge camera next time!

2 thoughts on “30 minutes to kill in Greenpoint

  1. Have they painted that lighthouse? I don’t recall anything so dramatic in 2000 when I walked along the promenade from Sea Point to to the Waterfront. Great photo with the Lion’s Head in the background. Oh, it is such a beautiful place.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s been painted for as long as I can recall but remember I live in the burbs! I’ve done a couple of charity walks along the Greenpoint/Seapoint promenade and it6’s always been red, but I did find some old photos on the ‘Net of it as an all white structure. Yes, I know, I live in the most beautiful part of the planet!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

