Woodstock – its Art and its People Part II


Sunday morning and Woodstock is filled with sights and sounds as I walk the narrow streets searching for street art.  It’s easy to find because it’s everywhere, depicting anything from South Africa’s dark past, to more colourful themes.15-IMG_9417Sometimes there is a message, often one of hope.  Other times, a reminder of how far we have come as a nation and as individuals.56-IMG_9561Or something profound and complex in its simplicity.27-IMG_9469Other times the message is quite surprising:  A suburb also sadly tainted by drugs and crime and hardship and litter, Woodstock is the last place I expect to be reminded about the dwindling numbers of South Africa’s national bird.35-IMG_9486Friendly locals pause on their way to church, happy to direct me to yet another piece where artists from all over the world have left their mark on Woodstock’s walls.11-IMG_9403Children play games on patches of bald earth while their mothers toil their way through a piles of washing.  Others are content to do very little.52-IMG_953958-IMG_956855-IMG_9554And among all of this colour and activity, nature makes its own art, like these grasses clinging to life through an old grille.64-IMG_9594

5 thoughts on “Woodstock – its Art and its People Part II

  1. Love the rainbow wolf/person, but that bloke is giving you a ‘look’. How safe did you feel strolling around this area with a camera? My ex’s aunt and uncle had a blue crane on their farm in the Ciskei – a beautiful creature which was far better than a dog for guarding the place!

    Like

    • Yes he did give me the look but I suspect he was a bit blazed (I’m not convinced that was a ciggie he was smoking) but he didn’t object when I pointed the camera his way so I took a few shots.

      I felt safer than I expected but I was never far from my car. I moved through the area with the car and left my camera bag in the car. No tripod or zoom lens while I was shooting, just my camera with basic lens and car keys. I avoided crowds of young people, but the locals I came across were incredibly friendly and helpful and I struck up a couple of conversations.

      The couple in the shot of the car which I took outside a cafe on the busy main road were hostile though – or rather she was – but I left before my presence became an issue.

      The Overberg, where I escape to whenever I get the chance, is home to the dwindling Blue Crane population. They are never still for long and quite skittish, so my pics of them have never been wonderful. There’s nothing nicer than seeing them in flocks in the farmlands around hay baling season. Maybe this year they will linger long enough 🙂

      Like

      • I’m afraid that after my experience in Windhoek I became very nervous of using a camera in less than salubrious areas. I’m better now I think, but yes you were right to keep the car close.

        I hope you get the shot of the blue crane – a flock of them sounds wondrous! Do you follow Liz of Nature on the Edge? She posts some excellent photos of wild life. http://natureontheedge.com/
        not sure if there are any cranes though.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I always go in daylight and when it’s busy and I’m constantly aware of my surroundings and alert. I also never attract unnecessary attention which is why when the young woman made a comment, I moved along. I was surprised by your Windhoek experience and think it was just bad luck more than anything.

        Yes I do follow Liz. She lives close by actually. The blue cranes are more common near Caledon and surrounding areas.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

