Books for Africa


The Cape Town Book Fair has returned to the Mother City, this time as the South African Book Fair.  Bummer that not one but two of the guest speakers I badly wanted to see didn’t pitch (shame on you both!), but there was a lot to see, loads of books on sale and I was particularly taken by this attractive display of Iconic South African writers by the Department of Arts and Culture.  Plus it’s also a small comfort to see that not all my income tax money went to upgrading Nkandla, president Zuma’s controversial luxury residence !!

1-IMG_2048

4 thoughts on “Books for Africa

    • Bwahaaaaaa! Not a single one I’ll have you know but I was tempted by a gorgeous coffee table book about elephants from a Zimbabwean photographer. But I was brave, I told the woman honestly that I really cannot buy anymore books. For a while.

      I’ve managed to read three in the last week or so (no life when it rains for days), so we have 60 to go. One of them was Monica Porter’s “Raven: My year of dating dangerously”. If you get your hands on a copy I’d love to hear what you think 🙂

      Like

      • Don’t go and buy it, get it from your library or bookclub. I don’t want to spoil it for you, but it’s not going to knock your socks off from a literary point of view, but I had my copy brought over from the UK I was that intrigued by the subject matter. ‘Nuff said.

        Like

Leave a Reply

