The Colour Purple


“I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don’t notice it.”  ―    Alice Walker

Winter is slowly staking its’ hold on the Western Cape.  With rainclouds looming overhead, interrupted by intermittent bursts of sunshine, my garden seems to be hanging onto it’s splendour for the welcome downpours.  Always a delight after a gentle cloudburst, the garden is alive with evocative sights and smells and the feeling of freshness no matter what the season.

Purple is my favourite colour – calming and intriguing with it’s mystical and spiritual qualities, it’s also the colour of royalty.  I’ve planted it in abundance.

Osteospermum

Lantana

Cuphea hyssopifolia

Smiling violas

Lobelia

One of many salvia varieties.

4 thoughts on “The Colour Purple

  1. Have to agree with Alice Walker (don’t remember the quote, but it’s apt). All the flowers are lovely, but my favorite is the lobelia. I have the Osteospermum growing in my yard on the opposite side of the planet and I think the common name we use is the “African Daisy.” 😉

    Like

    • Hi, I don’t recall the quote either but I am mesmerised by every shade of purple and so I found the quote quite apt. The osteospermum grow incredibly well here despite the wind and the salt air. They are super rugged. Much tougher than the normal daisy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

